The Book of Learning – Nine Lives Trilogy 1

Dublin UNESCO City of Literature Citywide Read 2016
Shortlsted for the Irish Literacy Association Children’s Book Awards 2017 

The Book of Learning by E.R.Murray

Sometimes, it takes more than one lifetime to put things right…

After the death of her beloved grandpa, Ebony Smart’s world is turned upside down. Sent to Dublin to live with an aunt she didn’t know existed, she soon discovers that her new home, 23 Mercury Lane, is full of secrets.

Learning that she is part of an ancient order of people who have the power to reincarnate, Ebony quickly discovers that a terrible evil threatens their existence. With just her pet rat, Winston, and a mysterious book to help her, she must figure out why her people are disappearing and how to save their souls, including her own, before time runs out …

(To order, click here.)

Well-written and a gripping page turner, The Book of Learning will keep readers enthralled and guessing until the final page when some answers are given – and as it is part of a trilogy, the pace and plot will leave them wanting more. Murray’s characterisation is well-conveyed, and the relationship between Ebony and her grandfather brilliantly captured. Highly recommended for 9 -12 year olds” Children’s Books Ireland

Murray creates a terrifically fierce heroine in Ebony Smart. Fighting against all authority, Ebony is never afraid to speak her mind or face grave danger. And yet the story contains many more interesting characters… This mystery and adventure is well-paced and entertaining, making for a great page-turner. Nobody is to be trusted and a murky presence constantly lurks in the shadows, creating good tension.” The Looking Glass

Here’s the book trailer: